Chair Yoga


This class is taught by:

Amanda Kocurek

Amanda finished her yoga instructor training earlier this year and is also certified to teach SUP yoga. Off the mat, she is a Montessori teacher, working with children (18-36 months ) for the last 9 years. "Bringing yoga into my classroom was my research project and I was amazed at how the children took to it, they wanted to do it, they asked to do it. I truly believe the breath of life and how to use it should be taught very early in life. I teach breathing techniques in my class everyday."
Amanda has been practicing yoga for the last ten years. Going through the training was such an amazing and badass experience for her. "Not only did I deepen my practice but my spirituality deepened too. I gained a lot of confidence in myself and was able to let go of the baggage and create space for new positive things in my life."

Yoga has taught her self love and to be OK with her authentic self even if someone doesn't like it. "I've learned that I'm in competition with no one. I have no desire to play the game of being better than anyone. I am simply trying to be better than the person I was yesterday. I'm stoked to be at Awakened Yoga Studio. See you on the mat."
Chair yoga is a practice that is supportive and beneficial to individuals who have limited mobility. This class will benefit seniors, those recovering from injuries, yogis with arthritis, or any other mobility issues. In this class we use chairs to sit in (rather than the floor) and to provide yogis with support in standing poses. You’ll connect with your breath, stretch, strengthen, improve range of motion, and reduce stress. Open to all yogis and all levels. This class is limited to 10 people. If you are recovering from injuries, please make sure you have been cleared to exercise.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Dec 19 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Dec 26 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Jan 02 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Jan 09 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Jan 16 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Jan 23 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Jan 30 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Feb 06 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Feb 13 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Feb 20 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Feb 27 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Mar 06 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Mar 13 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Mar 20 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek
  • Wed Mar 27 9:15 am - 10:15 am with Amanda Kocurek